Skip to content

Yorkshire League unveils new format for 2016

— 29 September 2015

The ECB Yorkshire Premier League has broken with 80 years of tradition by unveiling north and south divisions and a revised playing format.

  • For the first time since the league’s inception in 1936, the competition will be split geographically in 2016 as part of a reorganisation of club cricket throughout the county.

    The existing 13-team league will from next season be replaced by two 12-team north and south divisions.

    The new divisions will sit at the top of Yorkshire’s new pyramid system and involve promotion and relegation into feeder leagues.

    The league’s current 110-over format will also be replaced by a straight 50 overs per side contest, incorporating the Duckworth-Lewis method and leg-side wides.

  • Woodhouse Grange (above) celebrate winning the Davidstow Village Cup at Lord’s in September. They will compete in the ECB Yorkshire Premier League North.

    Aston Hall (below), winners of the 2015 Ben Bailey Homes South Yorkshire Cricket League, will feature in the ECB Yorkshire Premier League South.

  • Sides from both divisions will meet in a new League Cup competition and an end-of-season play-off will determine Yorkshire’s top club.

    Yorkshire League South will be comprised of Appleby Frodingham, Aston Hall, Barnsley, Cleethorpes, Doncaster Town, Rotherham Town, Sheffield Collegiate, Sheffield and Phoenix United *, Treeton, Wakefield Thornes, Whitley Hall and Wickersley Old Village.

    Yorkshire League North will feature Acomb, Castleford, Driffield, Dunnington, Harrogate, Hull, Scarborough, Sheriff Hutton Bridge, Stamford Bridge, Woodhouse Grange, York and Yorkshire Academy.

    Promotion and relegation will be on a ‘two up, two down’ basis between Yorkshire League South and the South Yorkshire Senior Cricket League, and between Yorkshire League North and the York & District League.

    In the west, the Bradford League has amalgamated with the Central Yorkshire Cricket League and is seeking Premier League accreditation.

    Champions in the north, south, west and in the North Yorkshire & South Durham League will play-off at the end of the season to determine the ‘champion of champions’.

    *Sheffield United and Rotherham Phoenix have merged.

Related Articles

New League Structure For Yorkshire

New League Structure For Yorkshire

— 24 March 2015

League cricket in Yorkshire will get an exciting new-look in 2016 with the creation of Yorkshire Premier Cricket. It will feature four...